Wigan Warriors announce scholarship and academy squads for 2022 season

Al Shabab signs Wigan Warriors

With the reserves score set to return in 2022, the youth age bracket for academy teams has been lowered from under-19s to under-18s.

Under-17 players make up the Academy as well, with scholarship teams making up the Under-16 and Under-15 scholarship teams.

In all, there are 62 players as part of the Wigan youth system for next year – 18 in the under-15 age group, 19 in the under-16 age group, 11 in the under-17 age group and 14 in the under-18 age group.

Participation In our daily newsletter

the news Cut through the noise

All 18 players in the U-15 pool are new signings from eight different amateur clubs.

There are 15 players who have signed academy contracts and are out of the scholarship.

With 37 players on the scholarship teams and 25 on the academy, 27 amateur clubs are represented overall.

All Scholarship and Academy players attended two separate nights at Robin Park Arena recently with Warriors Head Coach Matt Peet, Youth Head Darrell Goulding and Junior Player Development Director Shane Eccles.

The full list for each age group in scholarship teams, academy and amateur clubs they played and high schools they attended/enrolled in is as follows:

Under 15 years old (new contracts in 2022)

Brody Allred (Lee Miners Rangers Bedford High School), Cameron Butt (West Bank Bears & St Peter and Paul RC High), Finlay Yeomans (Woolston Rovers & Woolston and Lymm High), Hamza Butt (Keighley Albion & Clitheroe Royal Grammar School), Harleen Smith (Orrell St James & St Peter’s Orrell), Jaiden Drachenberg (Wigan St Judes & St John Fisher), Joey Prescott (Blackbrook & St Bedes Ormskirk), Josh Swindley (West Bank Bears & St Peter and Paul RC High), Leo Wadsworth (Orrell St James & St Peter’s Orrell), Lewis Owens (West Bank Bears & Weaverham High School), Lucas Hendry (West Bank Bears & Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy), Nathan Benson (Blackbrook & St Cuthberts), Nathaniel Twiss (Blackbrook & Weaverham High School Kirkby Stephen Grammer), Rob Bentham (Rochdale Mayfield and Bolton School), Toby Rich (Orrell St James & All Hallows Catholic High School), Tom Bridge (Orrell St James & St Peters Orrell), Michael Porter (Orrell St James & St Peters Orrell), Vinnie Arthurs (Leigh Miners . School) Rangers & Saddleworth).

Under 16 years old (2nd year students)

Callum Rathbone (Leigh Miners Rangers & St Mary’s RC High School), Keegan Boyd (Leigh Miners Rangers & St John Fisher), Jack Farimond (Leigh Miners Rangers & St Mary’s RC High School), Trent Kelly-Duffy (Blackbrook & St Cuthberts ), Louis George (Halton Farnworth Hornets and Wade Deacon), Joe Terrier (Lee Miners Rangers and St Mary RC High School), Louis Houghton (Wigan St. Sharks & Lymm High), Taylor Kerr (Wigan St Judes & St John Fisher), Noah Hodkinson (Hindley & West Leigh High)

George Green (Ashton Bears & Cansfield), Nathan Lowe (Lee East & Luton), Kian McDermott (Wigan St Patricks & Standish), Hayden Grimm (Lee Miners Rangers & St. Mary’s High School)

Matty Thornton (Sydal and Rayburn Valley High School), Josh Cartwright (Wigan St. Patricks and Huckley Hall), Dylan Kelly Duffy (Blackbrook and St. Cuthberts), Jack Lightbown (Westhouton Lions and Ladybridge High)

Under 17 (new academic signatures)

Reese Kersley (Orrell St James & St Peter’s Orrell), Maddox Jeffrey (Featherstone Lions / Heworth & Freeston Outwood Academy), George Hogg (Saddleworth Rangers Wardle Academy), Billy Myers (Quay Bowls Academy / Crossfields and Beamont Colgate), Ryan Brown ( Rylands Sharks & Newman High), Joe Baldwin (Orrell St James & St Peter’s Orrell), Tom Ratchford (Leigh Miners Rangers / Wigan St Judes & St John Fisher), Sam Fulton (Kells & St Benedicts), Troy Richmond (Trinity) College RC Burnley), Harry Smithers (Crossfields College and St Ambrose), Finn Rogers (Saddleworth Rangers and Saddleworth)

Under 18 (Academy Year Two players)

Reagan Sumner (Wigan St. Gods and St. John Fisher), Ethan Fitzgerald (Chorley Panthers and Holy Cross), Jacob Douglas (Saddleworth Rangers/Waterhead Warriors & Saddleworth), Zach Eckersley (Saddleworth Rangers/Waterhead Warriors and Oldhams Sixth Form Rose) Fisher), Harvey Hill (Hensingham and St. Benedict), Harvey McCain (Wigan St. Juds and Hockley Hall), Harvey Wilson (Saddleworth Rangers/Waterhead Warriors and Saddleworth School), Max Wood (Rochdale Mayfield and Sydal Moore High School), Lewis Pender (Wigan St. Judese and Dennery), Ellis Hobson (Sydal/West Bowling Academy and Lightcliffe), Junior Nsimba (Wigan St. Juds & Daenery), Reese Stanton (Wigan St. Juds & Daenery), Finn Birdsworth ( Bank Quay Bulls & Lymm High)

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here