Bursaries up to $5K awarded to 20 Tri-City Indigenous students

Local beneficiaries are among the more than 660 in BC in undergraduate, postgraduate and teacher education programs.

Removing barriers to accessing higher education.

That is the goal of the Irving K. Barber BC Scholarship Fund, which, this year, gives 20 Tri-City students with Indigenous heritage an ample opportunity to continue pursuing a post-secondary degree.

Today (November 25), the Society’s 2021 awards of $2.3 million were distributed to 663 students across the district who are currently enrolled in undergraduate, postgraduate, and teacher education programs.

This includes Douglas College and Coquitlam Campus, which has seen 15 students receive grants ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 – funded from endowment fund returns by the province.

Beneficiaries are determined through a competitive application process. Participants must be defined as First Nations (status or non-status), Malays or Inuit.

“Scholarships like these make a huge difference in the lives of Indigenous students,” said Ann Kang, Minister for Advanced Education and Skills Training, in a press release. It notes that people under the age of 25 represent 42.5 percent of the indigenous population of British Columbia.

“By breaking down barriers to accessing post-secondary education, these awards support Indigenous youth to gain the knowledge and skills they need to launch their careers and contribute to British Columbia’s economy.”

Since 2004, the Irving K. Barber BC Scholarship Association has awarded nearly $29 million to post-secondary students throughout the county and around the world.

Applications will open in January for the 2022-23 program; More information can be found here.

The recipients in 2021 from the Tri-Cities are as follows (in alphabetical order by last name):


  • Coquitlam
    • Julia Arreaza, Douglas College
    • Natasha Beauregard, Simon Fraser University
    • Paige Desjarlais, Simon Fraser . University
    • Ava Ferenc, Douglas College
    • Kayla Hartley, University of British Columbia
    • Audrey Heath, Simon Fraser University
    • Cynthia Ball, Kwantlin Polytechnic University
    • Jake Wardman, Emily Carr University of Art and Design
  • Coquitlam Harbor
    • Tasya Dodman, Douglas College
    • Alicia Hebert, Fraser Valley University
    • Malisa Vidal, Boday Douglas College
  • Port Moody
    • Julia McIntyre Smith, Langara College
    • Hunter Lang, University of British Columbia


  • Coquitlam
    • Loganboard, Simon Fraser University
    • Erica Dühring, Simon Fraser University
  • Coquitlam Harbor
    • Emily Taylor, University of British Columbia
  • Port Moody
    • Megan Shannon, University of Victoria
    • Don Marsden, Simon Fraser University

teacher education

  • Coquitlam Harbor
    • Yvonne Hill, Simon Fraser University
  • Port Moody
    • Maxine Jackson, University of British Columbia


Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here