8 Chester County students awarded Connelly Foundation scholarships

Today, in a virtual ceremony, the Connelly Foundation announced the Newman Scholars Program 2022-23, awarding 44 academically talented eighth-grade students from 29 regional parish schools with full four-year scholarships to attend any Philadelphia high school of their choice. Each student will receive a scholarship for their full high school tuition (tuition fees vary by school) at an average of $8,400 per year, which over four years will amount to approximately $40,000 of individual value. The scholarships are named after Saint John Newman, the fourth bishop of Philadelphia, who is credited with founding more than 200 schools in the diocese.

“The Connelly Foundation is pleased to highlight the academic achievements of these 44 students and the academic excellence of their narrow elementary school colleges and the staff who teach them,” said Josephine C. Mandeville, Chair of the Connelly Foundation. “For more than 25 years, the Newman Scholars Program has encouraged these young women and men to reach higher levels of academic success through a high-quality Catholic education at a parish high school.”

This year, 463 students from 102 narrow-minded schools in the Five Provincial District competed for scholarships. Standardized testing took place on September 26, 2021. Among the 44 scholarship recipients are the following eight students from Chester County: Raymond Daly, St. Patrick’s School (Malvern); Salvator Depless, St. Agnes School; Sophia DiGiovanni, School of Pope John Paul II; Charlotte Klinger, St. Patrick’s School (Malvern); Hanna Nguyen, St. Agnes School; George Schaeffer, School of Pope John Paul II; Jimmy Solomon Peter and Paul School; and Teegan Welch, St. Patrick’s School (Malvern).

In addition, five students from Bucks County, 11 from Delaware County, 11 from Montgomery County, and nine students from Philadelphia County have received scholarships. Saint Pius X in Broomall was the school with the most scholarship winners, with five recipients. James Jessig had the highest grades from St. Anastasia School in Delaware County. Four students also have previous winning siblings.

“I was thrilled to learn that 44 eighth-grade students from the five-district Archdiocese of Philadelphia have been named the 2022 Newman Scholars. These students have persevered in the face of severe challenges caused by the COVID-19 pandemic and excelled in their studies despite difficult obstacles. Their outstanding achievements would not have been possible without the hard work, cooperation and dedication demonstrated by our sponsors, administrators, faculty, staff and parents.” Archbishop of Philadelphia Nelson J. Perez, Archbishop of Philadelphia, said in congratulating the students.

Latest articles

Related articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here